How to Throw a Bookworm Baby Shower

PART_1437411309730_DSC_0007I’m not big on ceremonies that require a whole lot of pomp or tradition just for the sake of tradition (i.e. weddings, baby showers). Yes, even if they are my own. This probably makes me the least sentimental writer out there, but so you have it.

I knew I needed to have a baby shower though because I needed a lot of things for two babies, so I wanted to ensure it reflected me in some way. And however it reflected me needed to be something I planned to pass down to my chil’en. Thus, books became the theme.

The entire idea came together in pieces, but it all turned out pretty good. I think it started with the awesome books my roomies gifted me for my girls at the horror con.

Shark Vs. Train was hilarious and The Monster at the End of This Book was a great addition to any child's book collection. Funny and unique

Shark Vs. Train was hilarious and The Monster at the End of This Book was a unique addition to any child’s book collection.

To throw your own bookworm baby shower, here are the necessary components of such a shindig:

One pregnant chick:

Yes, my belly button is off center. Stare at it too long and you'll turn to stone.

Yes, my belly button is off center. Stare too long and you’ll turn to stone.

Two impending bookworms (or one in most cases):

If you look close, you can see their designations at the top. 'Baby A' and 'Baby B'

‘Baby A’ on the left and ‘Baby B’ on the right

Bookworms galore in the décor:

PART_1437411334193_DSC_0006

11759624_10200685086686489_23345452_n

bookworms

We cut a gajillion of these cute little worms out.

Bookmark party favors:

FOTAA4B

Got the idea for these badboys from Pinterest

Books (duh):

FOT139

PART95143741164140895DSC950001

We used books underneath the colorful centerpieces my sister made, and the diaper raffle prize was even a book.

People:

PART_1437411463178_DSC_0012

Well…there were a lot more people inside.

To humor your ridiculous love of books that you will either lovingly pass down to the next generation or shove down their throats.

Some of the excellent books we received for the girls in lieu of cards:

  • Animalia by Graeme Base

Probably my favorite illustrated children’s book. Pictures cannot do the book’s detail and thought justice

  • The Time Cat series by Lloyd Alexander
  • The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
  • Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You and On the Night You Were Born by Nancy Tillman
  • Grimm’s Fairy Tales

This is a gorgeous leather bound edition my sister-in-law got us for the girls.

  • Love You Forever by Robert Munsch and Sheila McGraw
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
  • Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown and Clement Hurd
  • The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss
  • The Stinky Cheeseman and Other Fairly Stupid Tales by Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith
  • Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter

    baby lit

    This pretty and colorful collection of ‘Baby Lit’ is from a high school best friend

pandp

The illustrations are beautiful and the structure perfect for primer books, specifically counting primers or opposites primers

There you have it, folks. All you need for a bona fide bookworm baby shower.

This entry was posted in Crafting, DIY, Homemade, Random Musings, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How to Throw a Bookworm Baby Shower

  1. D.G.Kaye says:

    Great idea Ash. Congrats on your shower and ‘baby bumps’ 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, this is absolutely the sweetest, cutest baby shower I’ve EVER seen! You made me happy tear up! That theme is perfect for you, and I’m so touched that Carie and I kicked it off. 🙂 You look absolutely gorgeous in that soft, lacy dress. Your girls’ names are beautiful. And the little worms are adorable. I’m bursting with squee, and I’m so happy for you! I’ve missed you in my summer break business/your pregnancy business. Lovely to come here and get this catch-up. ❤

  3. This is all so cute! I love the bookmark idea and the “stare too long and you’ll turn to stone” about your off-center belly button made me laugh out loud. (I’m sure it will head back to center again after the babies arrive. Probably. ?) And The Stinky Cheese Man is one of my favorite books! I’m so happy for you, Ashley. 🙂

    • I totally forgot about the Stinky Cheese Man until I saw it again that day! I was so excited. The bookmarks took HOURS, even with the help of my devoted bf/husband/baby-daddy “laminating” them with tape and exacto-ing the edges. Ha. I hope my belly button goes back.

  4. Pingback: The Things To Come |

  5. Pingback: Creating New Year’s Intentions for Success |

Comments?

