Excuses and Updates

IMAG00695

Wow. It’s been a long time since I updated. But I have a really good excuse: Twins! Having a baby–let alone two, at once!–really messes with your sense of time. So apologies for my delay. I have been in the ambiguous and surprisingly fast-moving state of ‘baby time’, which means very little time for oneself in the first few weeks…er, months. No, years. The first 18 years. When the baby either of us is holding at a time sleeps or if the heavens open and both are sleeping, we are torn between addressing our essential needs (food, bathing, relieving bladders), doing something for ourselves like reading a few pages or god, listening to music–I realized how much I missed that in the first couple weeks and promptly added some daily dancing/singing time to my time alone with the babies–or just passing out ourselves. So it might be a little longer than I had anticipated for the feature updates to my blog.

In the meantime, I’ll be working on some posts for a type of diary as a mom of multiples (Look at all these promises I keep making. I have every intention of following through, I just don’t know how long it will take). With this diary, I want to help the other people like me out there who had no idea what they were going to be facing. And hopefully it will give some good laughs to anyone who’s just curious. I have to write something, and since these girls consume most of my hours in a 24 hour period, what better subject matter? Also, I want to remember everything about this time. Thus, followers of my blog will be privy to tales about my twinkies at some vague point in the future. Look, I can’t make any promises on a timeline when I don’t even know when I’ll be able to fold the laundry. 😉

For now, here are links to some of my more productive friends’ blogs. Annie is hosting an ‘All Hallow’s Read’ giveaway and will be posting some deliciously dark poems throughout the month. Carie has some eerie stories about subbing and nine Halloween-related posts from last year (she is kind of a Halloween expert with her birthday being on the very same All Hallow’s Eve).

And from an era where time was more plentiful, here are some of my own fall/October/Halloween-related posts and things:

Thank you, readers, for bearing with me during this time of so little time.

This entry was posted in Random Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Excuses and Updates

  1. Congratulations! Beautiful tiny feet. ❤ You'll have material for writing, for years.

  2. I’m sorry; I’m dead BECAUSE TOES. !!!! Oh my gosh, best excuse ever, woman! I can’t imagine how busy and tired you must be. I’m kind of amazed you managed to post this. 🙂 I’m excited to read the baby tales, whenever they may come. ❤

  3. Eeeee! Baby toes!!! No apologies necessary. I’m surprised you can form a coherent sentence, much less a blog post. But I love your idea for a focus shift and look forward to reading anything and everything you send our way. Have you told the babies yet how you took them to World Horror Con in your belly? 🙂

  4. dgkaye says:

    Congrats Ash on the ‘little Twinkies’. Sooooooooo adorable. Love the feet photo! 🙂

Comments?

