3 Year Blogoversary: Recap and Giveaway!

1_candle_cupcake_2_FreeTiiuPix.com

freetiiupix.com

To celebrate my three year blogoversary (who knew these existed!), I want to thank you for taking your valuable time to come here and interact with me and my work. 

Thank you for your encouragement and feedback these last three years. Thank you for all of your wonderful blogs out there which have inspired me. Thank you to those of you who may not make your presence known but who are lurking reading nevertheless. 😉  I’m sure other bloggers can agree that it all makes a huge difference to know you’re not posting in a void, to know that others are out there, on the other side of the screen, listening. I appreciate it all.

Before we get to the goods…

Recap

You can always see my highest traffic posts in my side bar on the right there, but here is a small selection I think pretty well represents what I’m about.

Writer’s Lot

This was one of my top five posts for a long time. I enjoyed writing it and it hits close to home for me. I was a little surprised at the serious and thoughtful responses.

The Dissonance Between Experience and Writing Place

The discussion this one garnered was enlightening and enjoyable. Yet another topic that bears quite a bit of significance for me: travel.

An Object is Never Just an Object 

A short fiction piece.

Night Fishing

Less of a blog post, and more of a nonfiction vignette about my first experience night fishing.

Sharon Olds: Writing the Extraordinary Ordinary

A current top post, this is a review of the poet and two of her bodies of work.

Recovering from NaNoWriMo

As I revisit these most frequented posts, I am seeing a pattern. Writing-related, non-fiction/fiction/personal essay, and reading-related. This is another one of those posts geared more toward writers than people who I hope will be my future readers. But hey, other writers can also like my work. And apologies for so many of these kinds of posts, but as a writer I need a community, people. We can be a sad, lonely bunch.

The things I focused on in the beginning have changed as I have learned what my audience is more receptive to and interested in (this is an ever developing learning curve). I have changed so much as a person and a writer. And that’s what the giveaway is about.

Giveaway Rules

I will be giving away three favorite books of mine, each representing different genres that have had huge effects on me as a reader, writer, and human being, each continuing to shape me, years after reading them.

 

Catcher in the Rye–The one book I’ve read 10+ times. A staple in YA and literature
House of Leaves–my favorite horror story ever. Gritty, literary, and chilling

Jane Eyre--I immediately fell in love with this novelTaking in into account any writer’s entire body of work–though I have not yet read Shirley–Charlotte Bronte is my favorite author.

Please note these will be second hand books; I appreciate books that have a history to them. Or maybe I’m just short on cash. 😉

To enter the giveaway, comment on this post. Earn a second entry by sharing this post on social media. If you use Twitter, include my handle, @shleybdavis. With any other social media, email me a link (email on my contact page). If you want to comment on the post, but do not want to be entered, please let me know. The giveaway ends August 8th, 11:59 PST. I will randomly select winners, who will have to provide me with their address for shipping (only US, as I cannot afford international shipping costs). Or, if you’re not in the US and you win, I will gift you an ebook version of your prize–though that might be a little awkward with House of Leaves, if there even is an ebook version.

Looking back, do you think you’ve changed in the last three years? If you blog, what are some things you’ve learned that you’d like to share? Whether you blog or don’t, have you been grateful for any recent experiences?

This entry was posted in Life, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 3 Year Blogoversary: Recap and Giveaway!

  1. Great recap and great choices for a giveaway! I’ve read all three of these books and loved them all too, but I only read Catcher in the Rye once and it’s been so long I barely remember it. I think it’s time to revisit that one. So sign me up! And congratulations on three years of blogging. Happy Blogoversary! 🙂

  2. dremadrudge says:

    Happy Bloggiversary! Three years? That’s awesome. I can totally relate to writing being a solitary activity. Thankfully I am still in contact with many of my MFA classmates or idk what I would do.
    Keep writing!

  3. Maemi says:

    ~Congratulations, Ashley 😀 Wish you all the very best for the coming years.
    I’m so glad I found your blog ❤ My book partner and I used to love reading short stories and were always on the lookout for good ones; your blog is like a collection of them.
    You're giving away classics! I'd love to win one 🙂

  4. Yaaaay! I actually haven’t ever read The Catcher in the Rye, so please do count me in. Happy bloggiversary! 🙂

  5. ElleKurz says:

    I’m commenting, but please don’t enter me into the giveaway as I already own all three books. I do not want to detract from those who haven’t read or want to own them. I just want you to know how proud of you I am for all you’ve accomplished over the last three years, and amazed at how productive you are and bright you shine all the time. Every day! No sleep! One pillow! You are my inspiration and the reason I keep doing what I’m doing (not counting the insatiable drive to write we both suffer from). LOVE YOUR FACE!

Comments?

