10 Halloween Indulgences

This day is all about the mood. To set the mood, here are 10 spooky reads and movies for your Halloween enjoyment.

7 Spooky Reads

Classic Gothic

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

If you take your horror with a side of obsession and romance, then this powerful novel is for you. Whether you see vampires or just madness, this book has some dark and truly unsettling parts.

Contemporary Gothic

The Night Swimmer by Matt Bondurant

I listened to this book on audio, discomforted by the eerie setting and tone the whole way through. With its folk lore and Irish gangs, Bondurant firmly places you in a literary landscape you want to stay in forever and escape in equal measures.

Horror

Within These Walls by Ania Ahlborn

I read this book as a comparison to one of my own novels, and it was everything I hoped it would be. It is full of cults, ghosts, possession, and desperate measures.

Bird Box by Josh Malerman

The second most terrifying book I have ever read (after House of Leaves). I guarantee you have never read–nay! experienced anything like this!

Literary Horror

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

This is a good book for people who like mystery, thrillers, film, and of course, horror. Not to mention, the antagonist is very intriguing.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Grim, gruesome, and gritty. I loved Camille’s tone. I loved the tone of the entire book. Such a satisfying mystery shot with horror and an ending that’s sure to make you reel.

Quirky Horror

My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

This book was unique, and it really made me squirm in terror at times. I remain ambivalent about the end, but if you like horror and the 80s were part and parcel to your childhood, this is definitely worth a read.

3 Spooky Movies

The Witch (2015)

One of the best horror movies I’ve ever seen, subjectively speaking. Obviously, I want to be scared when I watch horror, and this one digs under you skin.

Goodnight, Mommy (2014)

A highly uncomfortable–but satisfying–foray beautiful cinematography, boyish adventure, and M. Night Shyamalan-ish twists.

The Descent (2005)

I can’t believe I’d never watched this until recently. It’s psychological and creature horror wrapped up in one edge-of-your-seat horror.

 

As a bonus, if you’re looking for a quick horror fix, check out my flash horror story, “The Wake”, which just came out, or my horror poem “The Insolubility of Nightmares”–my first published work from October three years ago.

Have you already seen these movies or read these books? What did you think (no spoilers, of course)? What horror novels or movies are you indulging in on this All Hallow’s Eve? 

This entry was posted in Book Reviews/Critiques, Reading, Reviews and Recommendations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 10 Halloween Indulgences

  1. It’s actually kind of crazy how much our tastes line up. Which obviously means I need to read Within These Walls and My Best Friend’s Exorcism, because they’re the only two on your list I haven’t already read/seen and loved. Luckily I already own one, so mental note. Happy Halloween!!

    • Ha ha! It really is. I hope you like them. I would be interested in discussing the end of both of those novels with you, so let me know when you finish! Hope you had a most wonderful day of the year, friend. 😉

  2. I’m glad to know you liked Within These Walls. I’ve wanted to read it ever since we got it at WHC, but you know how it is. So many books… Maybe I’ll start with the movies instead. The Descent definitely caught my attention.

    Oh, and I recently enjoyed Slade House by David Mitchell. I listened to it on audio and it was quite satisfying. Unlike any other haunted house story I’ve ever read.

    • I’m excited about Slade House. Turns out I can get an audio copy from the library, but I don’t have a commute to work anymore, so it might be difficult to swing listening to it. 🙂 Yes, Within These Walls was very satisfying. You’ll like it. And The Descent. I loved it.

  3. Pingback: 6 Reads of Unexpected Horror |

Comments?

